Wild & Domestic

Running in such a way as to get the prize!

Consistency

Something I’ve realized about myself this semester is that I just crave consistency.  I crave having something to always look forward to.  I crave for anything to be reliable.

The very first thing I talked to God about when I moved into my apartment was how strange it felt to have yet another place to call home – but still, nothing was permanent.  I don’t imagine living in the same apartment for very long and the only reason I live in Lynchburg currently is because I am temporarily a student here.  I told God how much I couldn’t wait until I could just settle down and have a home of my own that I could stay in for a good amount of time.  His response?  “That won’t happen on your side of Heaven.”

Disappointment.

You see, I grew up in the same house for the first 19 years of my life!  So I’ve grown a bit attached to a physical place.  But honestly, when I imagine doing the work I know I’m called to do, I knew that answer was coming.  I know I’m not going to be able to stay in the same place for too long.  God will have me uprooted and moving on to a new place before I even get settled.

But…

I still have Heaven to look forward to.  Jesus himself is there right now preparing a place for me.  He knows me better than anyone, so I can’t imagine how wonderful it’ll be.  And that is where I will stay for eternity.  Eternity is a concept I can’t even wrap my head around.  I’ll never be able to comprehend it.  But I have that to look forward to.  That promise of God is reliable.  That promise isn’t changing.

I also crave consistency in relationships.  When plans change at the last minute, it really throws me off.  And people are the most volatile, because there are just far too many variables in everyone’s life to keep track of.  But I just want to know that someone will be going with me everywhere I ever go.  I want at least one constant who will be there every day.  I want someone I can count on, undeniably.  But people always, always let you down.  Good intentions aren’t enough.  You will call and there will be no answer.  You will need them and they’ll be too busy.  You will make every effort to get in touch, and none of it will be reciprocated.

But…

God is that constant.  His name’s Emmanuel, which means God with us.  That is a promise that is built right into who God is.  It’s his character.  It always has been and always will be.  He lives in all believers and He knows us better than we know ourselves.  He prays for us with words we can’t even comprehend, when we seriously don’t even know how to pray.  There is nowhere we will ever go where He won’t follow, even if we wanted to get rid of Him.  He’s our comforter, our protector, our guide.  That’s as true today as it will be any day.  And because of what Christ accomplished on the cross, we now have the ability to commune directly with God any time we want, and He never grows tired of us.  His compassion for us is never-ending.  You will never call God and get voicemail.  He has felt all things we will ever feel.  He makes a way for us before we even know where we’re going.

There’s nothing but satisfaction in that.

My best friend is the same God I get to spend eternity with.

There’s no disappointment to be had if we put our trust in His promises and only His promises.

2 comments on “Consistency

  1. justletthisgo
    December 12, 2011

    One thing I have to remind myself when I want to get wrapped up in where I am, and the things around me is “This is not my home. Heaven is my home!” Good post, Sarettey! I love when you post like this when God speaks to you.

  2. Jo
    December 12, 2011

    Nice I love this

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2011 by in christian living, faith, ministry, spiritual growth.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

